New Merchandise


All Releases

Love Is For The Rich Track List

  1. Shift The Blame
  2. 15
  3. Talk Of The Weather
  4. Photographic Memory
  5. Death Penalty
  6. Problem Solving
  7. Easy
  8. Papertrail
  9. Fix Another
  10. Stay Out Of The Sun
  11. Upside Down Pictures
  12. The Fence

Quick Bio

With Popular Mechanics, the second full-length from Chico, CA-based rock outfit Surrogate, the band has successfully honed their subtle blend of indie pop songcraft and lyrical witticism down to a science (pun intended). In the two years since the release of their critically acclaimed 2007 debut, Love is For the Rich —which NPR described as "deliciously low-key" and which elsewhere garnered comparisons to everyone from The Shins and Death Cab to shoegaze icons Starflyer 59 and Pedro the Lion —the band has toured the country with labelmates Emery and Ruth, played shows from Fargo to Florida, and diligently labored on perfecting the 11 songs that would eventually comprise Popular Mechanics.

Read the full Biography


Jordan Mallory: Drums and Percussion
Chris Keene: Vocals, Guitar, Bass, Piano, Keyboard, Accordion, Banjo, Xylophone, Percussion and Programming