New Merchandise

The Almost

All Releases

Fear Inside Our Bones

The acclaimed rock group The Almost has announced their third album Fear Inside Our Bones will now be released Tuesday, June 11th via Tooth & Nail. Tooth and Nail has entered into a new distribution deal with RED Distribution, Sony Music Entertainment’s award-winning independent distribution company. Under the agreement, RED will now handle distribution for all future Tooth & Nail and Solid State releases.

The band--AARON GILLESPIE (lead vocalist/lyrics/guitar), JAY VILARDI (guitars), DUSTY REDMON (guitars), JON THOMPSON (bass) and JOE MUSTEN (drums)--has also revealed the album cover artwork and track listing for Fear Inside Our Bones. Check it out here!

The album is collecting early praise from the media. Alternative Press hailed, “On The Almost’s first album in nearly four years, Aaron Gillespie and his bandmates fire up the Wayback Machine to the ‘70s, employing fuzzed-out rock ‘n’ roll that’s big on bluesy licks and light on studio magic. There’s a visceral energy to ‘I’m Down’ and ‘Never Be Like You,’ the result of The Almost tracking these songs live and in rapid-fire fashion, and the title track might be the darkest song Gillespie has penned in quite some time” (May). Elsewhere, Revolver magazine declared, “Candid lyrics like this paired with the band’s decision to record completely live make for its most raw and organic album yet. Fear Inside Our Bones delivers thundering rhythms and crunchy guitars fans will love, at times even tapping into the pop-rock effervescence of the Foo Fighters” (April). The album’s first single “I’m Down” will impact Alternative and Rock radio in May. The first preview track is “Ghost,” which echoes with unbridled blues intensity before converging on a divinely heavy refrain is gathering steam. Listen to “Ghost” here:

To record Fear Inside Our Bones, The Almost retreated to Nashville’s Omni Studios with producer Marshall Altman (Tom Morello, Ingrid Michaelson, William Fitzsimmons). All the songs were recorded together in a single room, completely live. “It wasn’t a piecemeal process as the majority of modern records are,” explains Gillespie. “The album was born at that moment from our collective blood, sweat and tears.” In those five days, the musicians tapped into elegantly visceral energy built from a blues-rock vibe that they modernized. Other album highlights include the relentless rocker “Fight Song,” the powerful and complicated anthem “I Won’t Let Go,” and “I’m Down” which streams ahead like a Southern freight train before the singer soulfully proclaims in the chorus, “Don’t count me out.”

Aaron Gillespie recently sat down with Jonah Bayer from SpinMedia’s PureVolume to discuss Fear Inside Our Bones. Check out the full Q&A below:

Aaron Gillespie PureVolume Q&A:

MSO Press Releases and Bio:

Catch The Almost on tour in the following cities below. Expect more dates and radio news for 2013 and beyond to be announced soon!

4/13 - Brownwood, TX
4/14 - Waco, TX
4/26 - Smithfield, RI
6/7 - Seattle, WA
6/8 - Vancouver, WA
6/11 - Riverside, CA
6/12 - Irvine, CA
6/15 - San Jose, CA
6/19 - Boise, ID

Quick Bio

It's all too easy to make an album in this day and age. You rent out a studio, record one part, and then cut and paste it across the whole record. That happens partly because of fear. Putting your soul on tape is a scary thing. THE ALMOSTovercame that fear and did something completely different for not only themselves but modern rock as a whole. They holed up in a small room in Nashville's Omni Studios for only five days and played every note of their third full-length album, FEAR INSIDE OF OUR BONES (Tooth & Nail/EMI/Universal), together in unison. Now, there's an overwhelming thunder on the horizon. It's the sound of a band realizing its potential. It's the sound of life. It's the sound of THE ALMOST.

Read the full Biography



Aaron Gillespie - Vocals, Guitar
Dusty Redmon - Guitar
Jay Vilardi - Guitar
Jon Thompson - Bass
Joe Musten - Drums